Birthday Quick Fix: Nutella Chocolate Chip Mug Cakes

small mug cakes

“Birthdays are good for you; the more you have, the longer you live”. I love that quote, not only because it has oodles of wit, but also because it kind of captures my ‘meh…’ relationship with my own birthday.

DSC_0509

When I was a kid, I of course loved being fussed over, and fussed over I was, being an only child and all. But as an adult, a birthday has always seemed to me a bit like a ticking time-bomb, a subtle reminder that time is running out, of things left to do… I have issues, yep…

DSC_0519

Particularly since the munchkin arrived on the scene, her’s is the birthday I most look forward to and plan for. One big birthday bash a year is quite enough, really.

DSC_0550

I do look forward to my birthday for another reason though. It’s on the 1st of March, which to me, is the first day of Spring. Yes sirree, time for snowdrops and daffodils. Time to be rid of hats and gloves, time to let color back in your wardrobe…

DSC_0502

So yesterday, to celebrate my birthday, we went out for lunch to a restaurant that serves the best dim-sum in town, did some shopping, walked round the city for a bit and got home around 5.

small mug cakes1

Light was fading and I had a sudden craving for some cake, birthday cake and a chocolate one, of course. I had toyed with the idea of baking a cake earlier, but had not gotten around to it, ‘meh’ attitude and all. But now I wanted my cake fix.

DSC_0534

Nutella and modern technology to the rescue. I have tried mug cakes before, with mixed results,none of them good enough to post about. This one though, takes the cake(!)

DSC_0504

A chocolate lover’s dream, with oodles of Nutella thrown in for good measure. Topped with whipped cream and more chocolate chips. Moist, rich, chocolatey and oh-so-good. I am talking birthday-cake good here…

DSC_0533

The only bad thing about this cake is how easy it is to make. It comes together from start to finish in 5 minutes. How will I ever stop making these, especially when Nutella is practically a staple in this home!

DSC_0542

You can also make these more decadent by drizzling some chocolate syrup on top, or some salted caramel syrup, yum. I didn’t even wait for the cakes to cool down before digging in.

DSC_0512

Delicious and so easy!

Here’s the recipe.

Nutella Chocolate Chip Mug Cakes

(Adapted from Babble)

Prep Time: 2 minutes
Cooking Time: Upto 3 minutes
Serves: 2 (or 1 very hungry person)

Ingredients:

4 tablespoons All-purpose Flour
1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
1/8 teaspoon Baking Soda
3 tablespoons White Granulated Sugar
1 Egg
1 tablespoon Cocoa Powder
2 tablespoons Dark Chocolate Chips (plus more to garnish)
4 tablespoons Nutella
3 tablespoons Milk
3 tablespoons Olive Oil/ Vegetable oil/ Butter
Whipped Cream to top

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Whisk well with a fork until smooth.
Divide between 2 coffee mugs.
Microwave each mug on high for 1 1/2 to 3 minutes. (Time depends on microwave wattage. Mine took 1.5 minutes.)
Top with whipped cream and chocolate chips or a little chocolate sauce if desired.

Note: Depending on the wattage of your microwave, you may have to increase cooking time.

DSC_0543

Tagged: ,

21 thoughts on “Birthday Quick Fix: Nutella Chocolate Chip Mug Cakes

  1. bakewithmeblog March 2, 2014 at 11:21 PM Reply

    YUM! I love nutella and being a student this quick cake is perfect for me! The whipped cream and sprinkles on top makes it look so pretty and professional! :)

    Like

  2. Riddhi March 3, 2014 at 12:10 PM Reply

    Belated birthday wishes!! :)

    Like

  3. Christine March 3, 2014 at 2:42 PM Reply

    Oh yummy with a side of yum! I love nutella and chocolate and whipped cream and whipped cream with chocolate chips (nothing like sinking into the cool creaminess only to bite down and be reminded there’s also chocolate!)! And do not fear birthdays…they are but a reason to get breakfast in bed and eat a few of your cake mugs;p Happy birthday to you!

    Like

    • spiceinthecity March 3, 2014 at 7:04 PM Reply

      Thank you Christine! This recipe does bring together some of my favorite things too :) And yes, I need to learn to enjoy my birthdays :)

      Like

  4. Christine March 3, 2014 at 2:43 PM Reply

    Oh yes, and you get full birthday social media likes from me;p

    Like

  5. Sadia Mohamed March 5, 2014 at 7:18 PM Reply

    Wooowness. Nutella and chocolate chip?!!! This must have been heavenly. Lovely fotographs. :)

    Like

  6. hope915 March 10, 2014 at 4:31 AM Reply

    This was amazing! Usually mug cakes are rubbery and dry, this was delicious and fluffy like fresh baked cake. Thank you!

    Like

    • spiceinthecity March 11, 2014 at 6:52 PM Reply

      Thank you Hope. That has been my experience too with mug cakes, until this one :) So glad you liked it too!

      Like

  7. Le Petit Artichaut March 28, 2014 at 9:34 PM Reply

    Oh my goodness, this is the best/worst thing ever…delicious, yet toooooo easy to whip up :) I have to try it immediately!

    Like

    • spiceinthecity March 28, 2014 at 11:15 PM Reply

      Thank you Katie; yes, its horrid that it is so ridiculously easy to make ;)

      Like

  8. Ngan R. April 1, 2014 at 5:51 AM Reply

    Hi Naina, I can’t believe I missed this post earlier. Happy, happy belated birthday! This looks like an amazing treat. My birthday is coming up and I’m not one for big cakes, so I’m thinking a mug cake is in order!

    Like

  9. polianthus April 16, 2014 at 9:18 PM Reply

    I seem to remember having seen cake in cup here already, made in the microwave though and looked yummy and I thought I commented, but maybe I am totally wrong and its my dreams of nutella chocolate cakes in cups that are coming to the light of day in your blog……..these look so delicious and the size looks quite small, and I love the pattern on the saucers, very pretty. The only thing that could improve them might be a side of French fries, having just been in Milan, as you know, it seems that everything is better with a side of French fries – and probably together the chocolate and the french fries cancel each other out and make a diet food :) – it seems I have to say goodbye to my brain today, hope you aren’t too confused.
    In brief: your cups look like the quintessence of chocolate

    Like

    • spiceinthecity April 17, 2014 at 10:33 AM Reply

      I think you commented on the mug cake too. Will check the post again to see where your comments went, hmm.. odd. Ha ha, french fries with cake! Yes, they would definitely cancel each other out ;) Thank you again!!

      Like

  10. Sarah May 13, 2014 at 7:51 PM Reply

    What a great idea! Just pinned this for a future chocolate-craving moment.

    Like

  11. […] Nutella chocolate chip mug cake. (via The Kitchn) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 312 other followers